top of page

Eight Limbs of Yoga

Yamas – how we treat others

  • Ahimsa: Causing no harm

  • Satya: Truthfulness

  • Asteya: Non-stealing

  • Brahmacharya: Chastity; energy sustaining

  • Aparigraha: Non-possessiveness; distinguishing want from need

Niyamas – how we treat ourselves

  • Saucha: Cleanliness/purity

  • Santosha: Contentment

  • Tapas: Self-discipline

  • Svadhyaya: Self-study

  • Ishvara pranidhana: Committing to a higher power

Asanas – Body postures/poses

Pranayama – Breathing exercises, control of prana/life-force energy

Pratyahara – Gaining mastery over external influences

Dharana – Concentration of the mind

Dhyana – Meditation

Samadhi – Enlightenment

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page